San Luis Obispo County Community College District
Established: 1963
Cuesta College is located at the heart of scenic San Luis Obispo County, and is highly regarded throughout the state for its excellent education programs, responsive student services and exceptional faculty and staff. Cuesta College offers classes at the main campus in San Luis Obispo, the North County Campus in Paso Robles, and the South County Center in Arroyo Grande.

Western Association of Schools and College

Instructional Programs
Lower division academic transfer courses, career technical education, short courses, continuing education, distance education, day and evening classes.


74 Degree Programs:

25 Associate of Art degrees

16 Associate in Arts for Transfer degrees

24 Associate of Science degrees

9 Associate of Science for Transfer degree


62 Certificate Programs:

17 Certificates of Achievement

40 Certificates of Specialization

3 Certificates of Competency (Non Credit)

2 Certificates of Completion (Non Credit)


Student Services
Academic and career technical education counseling, children's center, student newspaper, art gallery, student radio station, Disabled Student Programs and Services (DSPS), Extended Opportunity Programs and Services EOPS/CARE, financial aid, health center, Hollister Adobe Museum, learning skills, library learning resources, student development, transfer/career center, athletics and tutoring center.

Community Programs
Community education classes, online not-for-credit classes, special events, writer’s conference, College for Kids, 4th grade camp, sports camps, sports leagues, aquatics and fitness classes.

Total General Fund Budget

            2015-2016: $50.6 million

2014 Economic Impact Study Summary Results: click here


Spring 2016

Total: 10,399
San Luis Obispo: 6691
North County: 2267
South County: 882
Distance: 2770

Faculty and Staff 

Spring 2016

Full-time faculty: 159
Part-time faculty: 487
Classified staff: 230
Managers, administrators, supervisors and confidentials: 53

Board of Trustees, 2018-19

President: Dr. Barbara George 
Vice President: Patrick Mullen 
Trustee: Angela Mitchell 
Trustee: Mary Strobridge
Trustee: Pete Sysak
Student Trustee: Jordan Jantzen


Dr. Jill Stearns

Assistant Superintendents/Vice Presidents

Student Services & College Centers: Dr. Mark Sanchez
Administrative Services: Dan Troy
Academic Affairs: Dr. Deborah Wulff
Human Resources & Labor Relations: Melissa Richerson

Executive Directors

Information Systems & Technology: Keith Stearns
Foundation/Advancement: Shannon Hill


Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences: Madeline Medieros 
Academic Affairs, Mathematics and Sciences: Dr. Jason Curtis
Executive Dean North County Campus and South County Center: Dr. Maria Escobedo
Institutional Research, Library & Instructional Technology: Dr. Ryan Cartnal
Student Services: Catherine Riedstra 
Workforce and Economic Development: Dr. John Cascamo